Rainn and the Spirit Awards

This posts lists items about the Spirit Awards — celebrating the best in independent film. This year’s show was hosted by Rainn Wilson. It aired on Feb. 23 — live on the Independent Film Channel (IFC) at 2pm PT and an edited version that evening on AMC.

It was a hilarious afternoon. Rainn did a great job. So did Jen Celotta, who co-wrote the show!

Newest items:

Dennis Hopper initiates Rainn Wilson

Warning: NSFW (but you do get to see Jen Celotta!)

Rainn Wilson auditions for JUNO

I’ve recently become a HUGE Jason Bateman fan.

More audition videos here.

Previous items after the jump. Continue reading “Rainn and the Spirit Awards”

Latest WGA strike news

The Writers Guild of America (WGA) went on strike from Monday, November 5, 2007 through Tuesday, February 12, 2008. This included all the WGA writers who work on ‘The Office.’

The strike came after “three months of negotiations between the WGA and the AMPTP (Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers).” Areas of contention included DVD residuals and payments for “new media” (like last summer’s webisodes).

Latest news:

  • Feb. 26: Writers Guild Members Overwhelmingly Ratify New Contract — “The members of the Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) today put their final stamp of approval on the deal that ended their 14-week strike, giving writers new rights and protections for work distributed on and created for the Internet and other new media platforms. An overwhelming majority of the WGA membership voted in favor of ratifying the three-year contract by 93.6 percent of 4,060 votes cast in Los Angeles and New York. The term of the agreement is from February 13, 2008 through May 1, 2011.” More NEW

Videos: The Office is Closed | Why We Fight | This Is Our Moment

Call to action: Write a letter | Write a letter (part 2)

Ongoing strike coverage: Deadline Hollywood Daily | United Hollywood

Previous news after the jump. Continue reading “Latest WGA strike news”

The Weekend Tally

Tipsters: FishRockette, Tessieholic, Jules